Grinning Sheepishly

All things classic.

Blog 24, What’s up with Digital Activism?

with 3 comments

Yeah, I see “digital activism” all over the dang place. I use facebook and tumblr, where a lot of it takes place. I honestly don’t think twice about this form of activism when I see it, because it’s so easy for a person to sit behind a computer and “like” or “reblog” something they see on the internet, maybe because they sort of agree with it, or maybe because they’re just jumping on the bandwagon and want people to think they actually care about something that people are honestly struggling with. I think most of the people who choose to “support” these groups and such are really just trying to improve their self-image. I think some people are so sad in their little lives that they falsely stand for these things and actually don’t give two shits about equality or rights or hunger or autism. Be real here. If you really cared, you’d get out there and do something about it. You’d at least do some research before clicking “like” or maybe donating some money.  I just think it’s way to easy to become an activist these days. There are people all over the world who are real activists and don’t need facebook or tumblr to show it. Honestly, I don’t claim to be an activist of any sort and I definitely don’t pretend to be one online. I do care about important topics like equal rights and treating humanity as you would like to be treated. I just don’t have the time nor the energy to go stand at a rally, and I definitely don’t have the money to donate towards the cause, if there even is one. I prefer to share my opinions on the way things should be and what needs to be changed in order for that to happen with people who share similar opinions with me, therefore building upon each other’s knowledge and maybe even reaching out to others who had no knowledge previously.

http://fluffygreen.tumblr.com/

 

Written by Grinning Sheepishly

April 1, 2013 at 10:17 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I commend you for your bravery in pointing out the shallowness of most digital activism. In all honesty, I agree with you Simply changing your profile picture or liking a status on Facebook isn’t going to get anything done. Sure, awareness is a part of activism, but without action, it is meaningless.

    captainfisticuffs

    April 8, 2013 at 11:18 am

  2. I am a student in the honors Comp II class at OCU. We actually spent an entire class period discussing our thoughts on the equal sign photo on Facebook in particular which sparked a discussion on gay rights and so on.

    Regarding your posting, I sympathize with your opinion concerning the bandwagoners and “liking” for attention and praise, but we cannot deny that digital activism IS real. Take for instance, the Arab Spring/Egyptian Revolution. By liking a page or joining a group with half-hearted intentions, you are still subjected to its contents. You are shown the same postings or photographs as the adamant likers or members in the group thus exposing you to their opinions and views which could sway your beliefs and make you a more adamant supporter of a cause (wow run-on). In my opinion, if social media raises any amount of awareness then I would most definitely deem it as activism.
    Consider this question(s): If a posting on a blog or a photograph/status on Facebook or Tumblr is not seen, liked, or shared, is it activism since you are essentially sharing your beliefs with yourself? Is activism defined by what and how many responses are generated? Or is this digital activism, like you mentioned, too easy to be considered activism at all?

    Thanks for the posting! Life doesn’t always provide for a simple pageant answer with rainbows and ponies and butterflies and world peace. It’s refreshing to read an actual opinion.
    Also, great picture!

    wordsbybee

    April 10, 2013 at 2:28 am

  3. […] never thought of, while others I completely disagreed with. I was extremely proud of my comment on Blog 24, What’s up with Digital Activism? by Grinning Sheepishly. I raised questions that I thought would help the author consider new […]


Leave a Reply

